Hello and Happy New Year

Well, where do I start?  Every year I make New Years Resolutions – get fit, lose weight, blah, blah, blah and I never stick to any of them.  Why? Well partly because life gets in the way and partly because, well, I’m a bit rubbish at them.

Generally I resolve to do less of something – eat less rubbish, spend less time on the sofa, drink less booze, spend less money, This year I’m trying something a bit different and resolving to do more of something I love and just never seem to have time for – in 2015 I’m committing to do something creative every day of the year.  That might be sewing, crochet, cooking (though not regular everyday food – it has to be something out of the ordinary) or maybe something completely new, who knows?

My day job doesn’t allow much space for creativity and over the past couple of years I’ve begun to notice that as a gap in my life more and more, I’ve been sewing for several years but it’s always “when I have time”, this is my way to force myself to make more time for something I love – that’s gotta be good, right? This blog is my attempt to both document that and hold myself accountable.  Who knows maybe I’ll even manage a bit of the eating better and getting fitter too 🙂

I’ve not set myself any hard and fast rules yet – suspect there will be days where I only manage a couple of stitches of crochet and what happens when I’m on holiday or life gets in the way or I get ill?  As the year progresses I’ll have to find ways of dealing with all of those (and more no doubt!) but I can’t help thinking that doing more of what I love can only be a good thing and will set me off down the road to awesome!

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

